Love Story by Erich Segal – Book Review

Many of my friends and my sister had recommended to me ‘Love Story’ by Erich Segal . I was not very sure, as I always thought this to be one of those Mills & Boons stuff. Somehow I got my friend’s copy of the novel yesterday and decided to read it. It is a small book of 127 pages and I thought I will finish it in a matter of 2-3 days if the novel was as good as they claim it to be. But to my surprise, I ended up reading the novel in one sitting, well past into midnight. By now you know where this review is headed to – the novel didn’t get its reputation just like that. Its an amazing novel.

To start with, the story is simple, and has a likeness to some of our Indian movies. The story is about the rich Harvard guy Oliver and the poor Italian-American  Jennifer. Rich guy meets poor girl, status barrier, getting married against parents’ wishes and so on. But what makes you turn those pages, is the narration. The novel is written in first person, with the male lead, Oliver, telling us the story. The 127 pages are packed with all the stuff, the story, the emotions and you also get the detailed characterizations of the main characters. You don’t have too many characters to remember, the bare essential stay through the novel. Unlike the usual sugary romance novels, the dialogues have a comic tone to them at times making it a pleasant read. But of course, the surge of emotions is reserved for the last part. I am not going to reveal anything more of the plot, but then most of the readers would know it by now as this book was first published in the 1970s.

If you haven’t read this novel till now, I would recommend you go for it now. Its one love story you should not miss, because you are going to love it !

~ by Jayanthan Ravi on June 27, 2010.

3 Responses to “Love Story by Erich Segal – Book Review”

  1. so a post from you after a prolonged break….good one 🙂

  2. I wanna read it tooooooo…. But the review was simple and nice, rest i will tell after m done reading the book myself 🙂

  3. it’s a gud book of course.. but i’d like to remind u that I’ve seen a M&B sitting in ur bookshelf.. and u said u enjoyed it 😛

Leave a Reply

 
