From the pages of the Constitution..

After seeing the main copy of the Constitution of India, signed by leaders like Jawaharlal Nehru, Ambedkar, Rajagopalachari and others, at Teen Murti Bhavan in Delhi during my visit in 2011, I again had the privilege of seeing another copy of the constitution at the Punjab-Haryana High Court Museum in Chandigarh.

Both these copies have listed the official languages under the ‘Eight Schedule’ and it contains 12 languages from various regions of India. My case against ‘Hindi is the National Language of India’ rant was won when I first saw this page in 2011. It has been re-affirmed during my recent visit to Chandigarh. Even if someone wanted to go as per the Alphabetical order, the first language is Assamese.

Eight Schedule - Constitution of India

Signed page of Eight Schedule – Constitution of India

As I have already made it known to my near and dear ones, I have immense love and respect for Hindi. But that love cannot blind me to accept that it is the National Language of India.

~ by Jayanthan Ravi on October 5, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
