Bakers Dozen Books Bucket Challenge

First, thanks to my blogger friend Maya, for nominating me for this ‘Bakers Dozen Books Bucket Challenge’.

I remember reading in my childhood that there will be 13 slices of bread in the loaf prepared by a baker, and that is why a baker’s dozen always has 13 and not 12. So below are the 13 books that I would like to list.

While preparing this list, I was frankly very confused. The reading habit in me was kick started by my family – Grandfather, Father and elder Sister. If I have love towards books now, I owe it to these 3 people in my life. Like so many other people, I started with fiction (Sidney Sheldon, Jeffrey Archer etc.) and hardly touched non-fiction. That came later, well near my graduation days and one of the first non-fiction I read was the brilliant ‘The Story of Philosophy’ presented to me by my Brother-in-Law, another well-read man in my family. I wasn’t sure how to prepare the list and decided to include only fiction in the ‘Baker’s dozen’ and the non-fiction that I have read will go to the special mention section. The other reason for having them as special mention is because, I use some of these books for reference and might have read only the chapters and parts of the book that I was interested in. An example is ‘Discovery of India’ – book so vast that I have still not put in the effort to completely read through the book and more or less use it as a reference when I need some information.

Now for the lists,

My Baker’s Dozen

1. The Alchemist – Paulo Coelho
2. The Day of the Jackal – Frederick Forsyth
3. The Prize – Irving Wallace
4. Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less – Jeffrey Archer
5. Thunderpoint – Jack Higgins
6. Vaanam Vasappadum – Prabanjan
7. Pigs Have Wings, Life at Blandings, Lord Emsworth & Others – P G Wodehouse
8. Animal Farm – George Orwell
9. Love Story – Erich Segal
10. The Da Vinci Code – Dan Brown
11. Prey – Michael Crichton
12. The Guide, The Malgudi Landscapes – R K Narayan
13. The Godfather – Mario Puzo

The Special Mention list

1. Diwan-e-Ghalib – Collection of Ghalib poetry with translations in Hindi & English
2. Nine Lives – William Dalrymple
3. The Story of Philosophy – Will Durant
4. Discovery of India – Jawaharlal Nehru
5. India After Gandhi – Ramachandra Guha

Some observations about my book reading habit (I wouldn’t call them wonders)

* Never been a member of any library till date (except for the mandatory membership to my high school library)
* Library that I have visited the most (not as a member) is Eswari Library (Avvai Shanmugham Road, Chennai) with my grandfather
* I buy some of the books that I like a lot and have a small collection
* I cannot read an eBook/PDF from a computer screen
* Some of my favourite authors are – Frederick Forsyth, Jeffrey Archer, R K Narayan, and Jack Higgins
* The fastest reading record of mine till date has been ‘The Da Vinci Code’ – I started in the morning and by night I was done
* And longest time I have taken to read has been ‘The Lost Symbol’ (Dan Brown again) and it almost made me hate my reading habit

Now for the “tagging others” part, below are my nominations

1. Anjali Raman
2. Bingo’s Mom

~ by Jayanthan Ravi on October 18, 2014.

One Response to “Bakers Dozen Books Bucket Challenge”

  1. Super list! Thanks for doing this tag, J! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
